Skip to content

My reading list is growing…

September 8, 2009

Take a peek into my personal library and you’d probably think I was a relationship coach. 🙂 I’m not into Harry Potter or Twilight or even the latest Nicholas Sparks novel. For me, the good ‘ole self help books is where it’s at.

Tonight, I ran by Borders to see if I could get my hands on a few good question books for the guy and I. (see previous entry about that) A brightly colored pink book entitled “Before the Wedding” by Alex A. Lluch, caught my eye. Now for those of you already married, don’t leave just yet…I got something for ya! 😉 But for my girls who are engaged or are on that path…this one is for you. It’s a spiral bound, but hard cover book with a TON of the important questions. It leaves space for both you and your partner to include responses. The questions range from where to spend holidays with family, whether or not to put kids in daycare, and everything in between. The cover has a space for a photograph of the two of you (HOW CUTE!) and the very last page asks for the final thoughts you two have before the big day. I love it! This book is something that can be completed together or if you’re surviving a deployment, you can ask the questions and fill in the answers for your partner. Regardless, it’s an amazing bonding experience and something you’ll have to look back on later.

Onto the next book that ANYONE can relate to. I consider myself an insanely romantic person but in the bargain section, I stumbled across a book called “1001 Way to be Romantic” by Gregory J.P. Godek. It’s over 400 pages of amazing ideas with multiple ideas per page. Sooooo many of them can be completed from a distance and for $2.99 I totally couldn’t pass it up. I really encourage you to check into this one. I’m excited to put some of these ideas into play for his next care package. The next one he gets will be after he’s gone back for R&R, so it will need extra reminders of how much I love him.

Another book I picked up is called “101 Questions to Ask Before You Get Engaged” by H. Norman Wright. This book is something that has been on my wish list for years now and I’m so excited I finally have a reason to buy it. I was getting tired of our plain jane book of questions and really wanted to dive in deeper. For my girls who are in a long term or commited relationship with someone who you think might just be “the one,” this one is for you!

Anyone else have any suggestions!?!
~Shan

Books Mentioned
“Before the Wedding” by Alex A Lluch
“1001 Ways to be Romantic” by Gregory J.P. Godek
“101 Questions to ask Before You Get Engaged” by H. Norman Wright

No comments yet

Leave a comment