Skip to content

This life can be overwhelming!

October 22, 2009

Overwhelmed-by-housework

So as I sit here and listen to the 1st Cav Town Hall online from earlier this week, it becomes very overwhelming this life I am diving into. I feel like the new girl walking into the lunchroom for the first time. HAH. Coming from pretty much zippo military background contributes to that. I know the best way to overcome that is by staying in the loop and keeping educated. It’s tough since I am not anywhere near my FH’s base or FRG. I get all the e-mails and try to stay on top of things but being so far away…it’s tough.

I won’t be going to his Homecoming ceremony which bums me out beyond belief. Before we were even officially together, I had told him I wanted to be there. But since he just left from R&R and it will only have been 6 weeks since we’ve seen each other. Not to mention he will be coming to me about a month later for his leave. So to him, he feels like there is no sense. He is a great listener but I don’t think he understands the importance to me. Maybe I’m over-reacting and maybe I’m being too emotional about it. Yes we did just see each other, but for me it’s something different. He won’t have ANYONE there welcoming him home. It breaks my heart to know most all of the other guys will have their wives, children, and family running across the field to greet them and he won’t have anyone. He might say it’s not a big deal to him but…I think he might regret this decision later. Maybe not but…it sucks. Perhaps I’m just an emotional wreck tonight because my hormones are in a flurry. I always turn into a big, hot, mess around that time.

We’ve talked about it a couple times bc it def comes up in convo…but I really try not to dwell on it or get too involved in it because in the grand scheme of things I guess it’s not THAT important. No sense in stressing it for him or arguing or bringing drama while he’s still over there. I have to suck it up and be Army strong right? At least it’s online so I will watch that with my bottle of wine and giant box of tissues. HAHA Just a warning to all of my tweeters to beware because I’m sure that day I will be LIGHTING UP Twitter. 🙂 But, I’ll blame it on the vino.

And as I’ve said before…

I’M SO READY FOR THIS DEPLOYMENT TO BE OVER
I’M SO READY FOR MY SOLDIER TO BE BACK HOME
I’M SO READY TO START THIS NEW PHASE IN OUR LIFE
I’M SO READY TO SEE HIM AGAIN

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 10:36 PM

    I’m totally with you on it being overwhelming! My guy’s R&R is going to feel way too short, and then we won’t see one another for another 6 months because his base is about 1,000 miles away. So it’ll be like him being in S. Korea again, albeit without the time difference. Ugh.

    Staying strong is all well and good, but a good cry can work wonders (at least for me, but I’m an emotional timebomb sometimes lol). Let me know if you ever need to vent! I’m always a twitter update away 🙂
    -MeganWrites1 (on Twitter)

    • welcometothelife permalink*
      November 12, 2009 1:28 AM

      Ugh! Hugs to you! It’s so frustrating isn’t it? I kept reminding myself throughout this deployment that God never gave me anything I couldn’t handle. Some girls aren’t cut out for dating a military guy and obviously we are. We can handle the distance and we can be strong. We’ve already done the right thing by reaching out to others for support. So glad to have you as part of my Twitter family!

  2. Sara0120 permalink
    October 23, 2009 10:04 AM

    Like I said last night, I think you are right on about him regretting his decision not to have anyone there. I have a friend who moved back home when her hubs deployed from Ft. Riley. He came back last month. Her hubs told her not to fly back just to see him. So later on, she told me that he told her that he secretly hoped that she would surprise him by being there (and beinging their new daughter). But he told her not to go. So what was she supposed to do? And he regretted it. I know someone suggested sending a banner to them already. It’s a good idea. But it just breaks my heart to think that everyone else will be with their families and he will be standing there alone. But boys are silly like that. We have to let them learn that it’s okay to “need” us there with them. He’ll learn.

    And like always, you know how to reach me. Even if it’s just for a nice rant session or a good cry.

    Dont feel like the new girl. We were ALL there once. No matter what prior military experience you have, being a army wife, girl friend, or fiance is a unique experience. We all have to learn how to cope. I’ve been going though this with Joe for almost 4 years now. And I feel like I’ve learned so much. But there are always times where I still feel like a newbie, afraid to ask the stupid question. But they have to be asked. And hopefully Mike will crack a smilie and answer the question, no matter how silly it is. But I think he will. I think you got a good one.

    • welcometothelife permalink*
      November 12, 2009 1:25 AM

      Thanks girl. You’re the best. We did talk about it and he won’t be the only one from his group of guys to not have family there. So, I’m more okay with it now. I still will be bummed about not having my moment, but I’m sure he’ll make up for it in the end. And yes, you are right. Mike has always been more than willing to give me the Army 101 without hesitation. Thanks for being there!

Leave a Reply

