Skip to content

Holiday Care Packages!!!

October 31, 2009

military-care-package-fun-stuff

WOW! Take a look at that picture I found on Google! That should give you guys some great ideas when you’re stuck!

The holidays are upon us. Halloween is TONIGHT so it’s a little late to stick some tricks and treats in a box for your loved one, but not to despair. Thanksgiving and Christmas are two other great holidays to send a themed care package.

For Halloween this year (I should have taken pictures), I loaded one of the USPS flat rate boxes with lots of fun goodies. To start, I lined the box with one of those crazy, ridiculous cobwebs you can buy in the decor section of Target & Wal-Mart. I went to a local old-fashioned candy store and grabbed a buncha fun, random candies and stuffed them in a big ziploc bag. I even came across some green Army men gummies and threw those into the mix. 🙂 I wanted to do something for the other guys in his group too so I stumbled across some treat bags (like the ones below) at Target that maybe cost $2 for a pack of 20.

t_56966

I grabbed a few bags of non-melting candy…the good stuff like Nerds, Tootsie Pops, Gushers fruit snacks (they love those), and Starburst. I stuffed each little baggie with a few treats, stuck a sticker on it, and taped it for extra measure. The stickers weren’t sticking so well. I also threw in my usual CD mixes, some rubber mini rats, sticky skeletons, and a couple cards for my love. I was soooooooo worried it wouldn’t get there in time but it got there YESTERDAY! I think I had a smile on my face the entire day and so did he.

One of my points of writing this blog is because the guys LOVED getting their little treat bags. It was nice to get messages and chat with them a bit and know that something that small made their day a little brighter. It was so inexpensive to do so I really urge you ladies (and gents) to do something similar for future holidays or even just because. I was able to fit about a dozen bags in the box and my soldier just distributed them to whomever was standing around. It gave me a really great feeling.

It’s so easy to go to websites like OrientalTrading.com and find inexpensive treats, toys, and candy in bulk. Some of the stuff is junk but if you want to send some fun and goofy things…it’s got great ideas especially around the holidays.

Although at this date, Thanksgiving packages aren’t guaranteed to arrive on time…you still have a good chance of getting one out and in time. Perhaps think about making mini-cards and including a little thank you not only to your loved one but notes for the other guys around as well. I don’t think they ever get sick of hearing thank you. Same thing for Christmas…draw up some cute holiday cards and stuff little stockings or treat bags with candy canes and other bargain finds. Many big box stores like Target now have $1 sections and you can find some cute things there.

And lastly, as much as my soldier initially griped (yes GRIPED) about the package I sent before this one…he and the guys LOVED the Nerf guns I sent. They play with them every single day. Just make sure you buy extra bullets for them because they end up ALL OVER everyone’s AO’s and lost in translation. I snagged two guns and extra bullets for $10 at Target.

Hope this helps! Would love to hear some of your ideas so we can share amongst ourselves. This was my LAST care package before my guy comes home so I’ll be taking a break from the brainstorming for now but I’ll always be keeping my eye out for the rest of you who need some new ideas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzie permalink
    November 11, 2009 11:09 PM

    Heeeey;
    Just came across your site through google because I was searching for some (care packages) ideas to send for a good friend of mine who is out on sea at the moment. I’ve sent care packages before for my ex-boyfriend who was in Iraq, but never on sea y’ano? And def. not on a holiday season like Thanksgiving..LOL. If you don’t mind; would you mind sharing your creative idea for Thanksgiving with everyone,please & thank you!? (:

    • welcometothelife permalink*
      November 12, 2009 12:55 AM

      Hi Lizzie! Thanks for the visit. Glad you found my blog! Absolutely! I will ponder some ideas for Thanksgiving care packages and make a post by tomorrow. How great of you to send a care package!

  2. Lizzie permalink
    November 12, 2009 10:30 PM

    AW MAN, YOUR FREAKING AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWESOME! THANK YOU SOOO MUCH; I LOOK FORWARD TO IT!!! ❤ (:

Leave a Reply

