Skip to content

The Fort Hood Tragedy

November 8, 2009

amd_killeen_reaction First, I would like to offer my sincere and deepest sympathys to the families affected by the tragedy that occured at Fort Hood this week. If there is ANYTHING I can do for any of you or if you know of a way to reach out and help the families, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment here with your e-mail address and I will get in touch with you.

It has been a couple days since this horrendous event occurred. I have had time to soak some of my feelings in, ask all the questions in my head, and try to process it. The problem is, I can’t make any sense of it. Who can? I try to see the good in everything, or at least try to find a positive at the end of something tragic. I just can’t.

You learn once you step into this life that not only do you become a part of a giant military family, but you also become an Army family, or a Marine Corp family, etc. Someone had attacked my Army family and somewhere…there were people just like me who were being notified that their loved ones were killed on American soil. It’s unfathomable.

As we learn more about the victims, I find myself within those left behind. One soldier was just recently married two months prior. Another, had a girlfriend who he was soon to propose to. I am that girl. My soldier and I are about to walk that very path in the coming months. I can’t imagine the anguish that newlywed wife and that girlfriend must feel. We know as military spouses, girlfriends, etc. that our men have a job to do, a job that may require their life. We prepare ourselves as best we can (if we can at all) for that possibility. But we never think for even a second, that we can lose them at home. We never think for a second that they are in danger being amongst other soldiers. I cannot get it out of my mind that these families kissed their loved ones goodbye that morning for a normal day of work, and never saw them again. Why?

I will soon be doing a move of my own to Fort Hood, where the FH is stationed. This is another reason why it resonates with me. Not to mention he will be going through that very soldier readiness center in the coming weeks for his re-deployment.

I feel helpless, sad, hurt, and angry. I know I’m not the only one. I wish there was something more I could do besides prayers and cards. I would have hopped on the next plane out if I could to do anything I possibly could to help those families. I’m a complete stranger but I would love to give them nothing but a big giant hug, a shoulder to cry on, and a big giant box of tissues. But somehow I know even that is not enough.

There is an AMAZING song that I love so much that seems to really come to mind when I think about the events of this week…two of them actually. Here are the videos for both of them.

Praise You in This Storm by Casting Crowns

Hold Fast by MercyMe

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

