Skip to content

The Final Countdown!

November 20, 2009

I can’t wait to have this moment again!!!

Wow. I’m speechless. Where has this past year gone? I know for me, it seems to have flown by. For him, I’m sure it seemed like it was never going to end. I think I had similar moments. But WOW. We are at the end of our first tour of duty.

There are again, a zillion things running through my body and due to my massive migraine…I’ll have to get more of them out in a later post.

I am so immensely proud of him. I’ve been crazy proud this whole year, but there’s just something in me now that makes me THAT much more proud. I’m so proud that he has made a sacrifice to make the Iraqi peoples lives better. I know he has. He has shared stories that you don’t and won’t hear on the mainstream media. Yes, bad things do happen…but our guys are doing an AMAZING thing over there for people. Making their life so much greater. Even in our history, that didn’t come without some blood, sweat, and tears…but to know that he may have impacted even one childs life is so thrilling.

I am so lucky to have had HIM. It sounds crazy but if ever to go through a deployment, he’s the perfect soldier to go through it with. He has made it so easy for me. It’s so easy to love him. We’ve had our moments, but I look back and think of all that could have been…and he just made it so easy for me. We were so blessed that this all happened when it did. With my job, I am able to spend 2 hours a day Skyping with him at just the right time. It’s laid the groundwork for our future life together. Everything has just fallen into place. That alone makes me know that it’s a GOD thing. This is the man I’m meant to spend my forever with.

We have had a great past two or three days reminiscing about how our relationship evolved, the emotions we felt, and the memories we’ve already made. I love having those moments and I am blessed they do come often.

I will not be at the Homecoming ceremony in Texas just because of all we have going on in the near future, but he will be flying to me before Christmas. We’ll be going home to Orlando to spend it with our families and friends. Can’t wait for that either. I will have the most amazing feeling just knowing he’s boots on the ground…and by that I mean HOME!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 3:00 AM

    So exciting! It is so nice when he deployment is OVER!!!

  2. welcometothelife permalink*
    November 20, 2009 3:14 PM

    Ugh! It so is. Can’t wait to hear when he’s back home.

Leave a Reply

