Skip to content

Here they come…

November 26, 2009

I finally got my moment. There was no better day than Thanksgiving to finally get to hear my FH’s voice and get an email saying he was home safely. I think I will frame it and put it on my wall. I’m elated.

I don’t consider myself a “hard” person. I cry at babies being born on TV and watching people get married. But, for some reason, sometimes tears don’t come natural. Like when the FH and I saw each other in the airport for R&R. He had so hoped I would stand there bawling my eyes out in pure happiness. Nope. I so wanted to for him too, but I was in complete shock. I could hardly breathe and I was shaking.

Then…the email comes today. YAY! I was so glad to hear from him. SO GLAD. But I really wanted to hear his voice. I yearned for it so badly. He told me he was getting our phones tomorrow morning and would call me then. Boo. But it’s THANKSGIVING! AHHHHHHHHH! None the less I studied the email for a good 15 minutes. Just staring at it and re-reading it.

THEN…THE PHONE RANG! Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! It was him. OH MY GOSH LADIES AND GENTS. There was no better feeling in the entire world than to finally here his voice. So loud. So clear. So American-style. HAHA. I’m still wrapped up in it all and he hung up with me like an hour ago. I so lost it. We talked for a couple short minutes and once I told him how badly I missed him, the tears came full force. His voice is like my security blanket and at that moment I felt all wrapped up and warm inside of it. It was the best Thanksgiving gift I could have ever gotten. I am so thankful today to have him home and to have gotten my phone call I’ve waited…really this entire deployment for.

I didn’t get a chance to be there to greet him, hug him, and kiss him. We don’t get to be together for Thanksgiving this year. I didn’t even get to watch his ceremony online. I didn’t get a phone call or e-mail letting me know he was home. SO, finally getting it a few days later was HUGE for me. HUGE. It was all I needed to get me through these next few weeks.

Thank you to all of my Twitter fam and friends who have asked about him and been worried/thinking about me. I really do appreciate it. I am so thankful to you all today. I hope each and every one of you finds something great to be thankful for today.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2009 3:14 PM

    I am so excited for you! Now you can countdown until you see each other again 🙂

  2. welcometothelife permalink*
    November 26, 2009 3:23 PM

    YES! Thank you Julie! I think we are at 27 days. HAHA!

  3. November 26, 2009 3:34 PM

    It’s all about the moments!

Leave a Reply

