Skip to content

Valentines Day is coming!!!

January 12, 2010

My most favorite holiday of the year is coming…Valentines Day!!! I’m one of those crazy romantics. The one who always has these amazing ideas in her head of what COULD be, that never happens. Sigh. A girl can dream can’t she? I’m excited for this years Valentines Day as it’s my first with the hubs. I’m not putting any expectations on the hubs. We’re hoping to fly me out that weekend for my first visit, but we’ll see. None the less, I wanted to give a shout to my girls with deployed guys and give some ideas for Valentines Day care packages. In a way, I sort of envy you. I think I might put one together for the hubs and mail it to him any way. I LOVE VALENTINES DAY!

So, I think I blogged before about this snazzy book I picked up at my local Borders on MEGA clearance. I think I paid $1.99 for the thing and it’s HUGE. They might have more around, so check the bargain books section of your local big label bookstore. Amazon.com is also a fabulous place to pick up used books for much cheaper. I love doing that. More bang for your buck. Anyway, 1001 Ways to Be Romantic is FABO! Whether you have someone deployed or not, this will give you some amazing ideas (1001 of them) to keep the spark alive. We’re not talking about crappy tips here, really great ones. Take these for example:

9.) Keep candles in the car. Eat dinner by candlelight the next time you go to McDonalds. (HAH!)
12.) Write him a little love note. Stick it in the book he is reading.
633.) Arrange to have a dozen red roses delivered to your table. (when you’re dining out)
229.) Get every recording ever made of his favorite musical group.
64.) GALS: When in doubt, where a garter belt and stockings. GUYS: More foreplay.

And a ton more…but those are a few I randomly stopped on.

One of the things I LOVED to do while hubs was deployed, was use my webcam to record sweet ramblings. I would talk about my excitement for our future, why I loved him so much, my feelings and emotions, etc. Usually they would be about 8-15 minutes long and I’d burn them to a CD-R and stick it in his care package. He could watch them at any given moment and see me…even if I was sleeping or not by the computer. It was great. Men for sure need to feel needed and respected and this was a way for me to convey my feelings towards him 24/7, whenever he needed a boost.

Something I had hoped to do while he was gone is to make a love jar. Can be as small as a baby food jar or something bigger like a mason jar. Fill it with little slips of paper and on it, list one reason why you love him so much. Now you can make photo flip books on sites like Snapfish and Shutterfly also for $15 and under. Compile some of your favorite photos, have it made into a little 4×6 or 5×7 book and include it. Make sure you write a note on the inner cover. Hallmark also has tons of those little 99 cent cards. I bought 5 or 6, plus some regular ones and just wrote encouraging words, bible verses, and quotes inside them. Instruct them to open them all at once or day by day. Hubs couldn’t wait πŸ™‚ Another thing I loved to do, was make goodie bags for all the guys. I did this for Halloween and the blog post is around somewhere. None the less, you can pick up some bags of candy, little toys in the party aisle, etc and those mini treat bags. I filled as many as I could, stuck a sticker on them (and tape for extra security) and sent them in a care package for hubs to pass around. They all thanked me later.

Those are just a few ideas I have on my brain before I hit the sack. Please feel free to share yours in the comments section!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    January 13, 2010 4:29 PM

    Congrats on the upcoming first Valentine’s Day…hope it is a memorable one!

    I wanted to share an idea I had for helping those on a tight budget afford Valentine’s Day gifts. I’ve started a Web site called http://www.upyourcard.com that is an online forum for trading gift cards. I’m hoping the site can be a great resource for people to post those unwanted gift cards they received for the holidays, trade for a new card in return, and use that new card to complete Valentine’s Day purchases. Hope the site can be a help to some people!

  2. January 15, 2010 10:38 AM

    oooohhh, Valentine’s day sweetheart over here too! I’ve adored this lovely occasion all my life!!! πŸ˜‰ I love your ❀ notes here on romantic ideas:
    my favs I was smiling at are:
    9.) Keep candles in the car. Eat dinner by candlelight the next time you go to McDonalds. (HAH!)
    633.) Arrange to have a dozen red roses delivered to your table. (when you’re dining out)
    64.) GALS: When in doubt, where a garter belt and stockings. GUYS: More foreplay.
    great ideas! also the baby food jar love notes is great.. it doesn't have to be a large jar to get across the sweet ideas! πŸ˜‰ so cool! I remember when my sweetie was deployed to Afghanistan and I sent over the mini tapes and the microphone recording so he could listen to it when he'd sleep at night to hear my voice and ramblings or sometimes I'd play song on their for him too. He loved it! πŸ˜‰ a great thing for them when they don't have much personal space over there, to feel they can escape to their own private quarters with you.
    Another great idea is to make their care packages look enticing from the outside in! so fun! πŸ˜‰ it boosts morale for everyone too! A great place to start is scrapbooking places you can buy neat stuff for theme ideas.
    Great post, hun! πŸ™‚
    luv Jenn

  3. January 17, 2010 12:42 PM

    What cute ideas! I think I’m going to steal the slip of paper idea from you this year. One year my boys painted a a mazon jar for my husband and we filled it {ok I filled it} with hearsheys hugs and kisses. That was quite popular.

    I used to hide little notes for him, one in his helmet bag, one in his laptop, etc. yeah apparently he left a little trail all over his airplane. now i just put them in his suitcase or sea bag. a little more private!

    Oh and when he’s home, I’ll stop by work and leave him a treat in his car for the end of the day.

    if you really like valentine’s day, I’m having a valentine’s swap over at my blog. stop by!

Leave a Reply

