Skip to content

Dear John

January 13, 2010

I’m sure by now you’ve seen the previews for the movie “Dear John,” starring Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried. Nobody has to ask me twice to see a movie with Mr. Tatum in it. He’s gorgeous and plays the solider role all so well. You may recognize Amanda from her role in Mamma Mia.

I have to admit, when I first saw the preview this weekend, I stopped dead in my tracks and shed a few tears. I know they save the juicy, tug at your heart parts for the trailer sometimes…but something tells me this movie will be fabs. Did you ever see “Nights in Rodanthe?” That was another of Nicholas Sparks amazing creations, the same guy who was behind “The Notebook.” Nights was an incredible movie and all of his seem to tug at your heartstrings and bring a tidal wave of tears. I can’t wait to see “Dear John!”

In case you’re wondering what the movie is about, it centers around a soldier home on leave (Tatum) and a girl who falls for him (seyfried). Naturally, he has to return to the sandbox and they continue to exchange loving letters while he is gone.

Now, someone on the Twitterverse kinda spoiled it for me by telling me how it ended in the book…obviously it will end the same here. I won’t spoil it for my readers, but assuming she is right…I’m not stoked on the ending. Never the less, I’ll still be one of the first in line on February 4th when it comes out. I haven’t been to the movies in FOREVER but I’m def spending the money to see this one.

When Amanda Seyfried’s character says “2 Weeks John. 2 Weeks is all it took for me to fall for you,” that was it for me. The hubs and I knew each other prior to his time in the military and we did spend TONS AND TONS of time talking and stirring emotions through email, Skype, etc. but…those 2 weeks we spent together when he came to see me on R&R…sealed the deal for us. I think I can identify with a few parts of this movie and I’m sure we all probably can in some way.

What do you all think about this movie? Are you going to see it?

Fort Bragg girls, I hear that both actors are going to be having a special screening there very soon and a meet and greet. I’m not sure of the process for tickets or if they’ve already been distributed, but if you’re lucky enough to snag one…let us know! They are also doing a contest on the Army MWR website for the movie where you can win a vacation to Charleston, SC. And if you’re feeling like tweeting with Mr. Tatum…you can find him at http://www.twitter.com/channingtatum. Just remember ladies…he’s married!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 3:18 PM

    I didn’t realize what the movie was about until I saw the trailer on the TV last night.

    Since I could never bring myself to watch The Notebook (my Grandma lived nine years with Alzheimers ) I have never really been keen on watching movies based on Nicholas Sparks books…but this one has definitely piqued my interest 🙂

    I look forward to seeing it and yeah I will be taking a box of tissues 🙂

  2. January 13, 2010 7:51 PM

    Tickets were handed out today @ Fort Bragg !!! Also yesterday 20 lucky fans from the MWR facebook fans were awarded tickets early. I am proud to say I am one of those Fans … woohoo !!! I had to wait until after tickets where available to tell anyone !!! I wish you could come with Shan !!!

  3. January 15, 2010 10:42 AM

    Hi there! I was delighted to see more posted up about this movie! I also halted myself when I saw the preview from the last movie I watched: Julie and Julia I think. Anyway, I wanted to see it right away also and I’m not typically into movies too much! So, thank you for the extra info which means,.. I’m definitely IN! Feb. 4th it is! have a lovely weekend! luv ~Jenn

Leave a Reply

