Skip to content

APO/FPO Flat rate boxes

January 15, 2010

I’m sure most of my blog readers are aware of this, but in case some of you military newbie girls are not…here ya go!

The United States Postal Service has a flat rate box for APO/FPO addresses. It costs about $12 for as much as you can squeeze into one of these boxes, up to 70 pounds. They aren’t the biggest boxes in the world, but they are plenty big enough to send some goodies. I’ve squeezed quite a bit in these things. Before I was aware of the flat rate boxes, I used to send things in plain boxes to him…which was slightly more money. I think I paid about $18 or $19.

The USPS will send you packs of these boxes for free to your home. You pay NOTHING. You can also pick them up from your local post office but if you want to keep extras around, ordering them online is your best bet. Here is the link:
ORDER FLAT RATE BOXES

One of the fun things I used to do, is decorate the outside of the boxes with stickers, paint, and markers. The little girl I nanny for would also join in the fun, so if you have kids…let them go to town on decorating a box for mommy or daddy.

Just a reminder, that you have to bring the boxes to a postal office in person. You have to fill out the customs declaration form in addition to the regular mailing form.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 8:15 AM

    these boxes have saved me during deployments. no more going to the post office. i sent more boxes to dh when it was this easy

  2. Sara permalink
    January 16, 2010 3:05 PM

    I LOVE flat rate boxes!! I sent two boxes to Joe in Germany before I found these great boxes. Both of them were $30 to send!! There’s no way flat rate boxes wont save you money. And I’ve seen the commercials where they will send the boxes to your house. I have to stock up since Joe’s deploying soon!

  3. January 16, 2010 11:01 PM

    Hey there!

    I’m new to your blog, and the world of being an army wife! I already knew about the flat rate box, because my husband is currently in Iraq on his first tour, but I have LOTS that I probably don’t know about/need to learn! 🙂

    I also saw that you just had a post about the upcoming movie “Dear John”, and I didn’t get a chance to read it, (my excitement took over that I found another army wife’s blog before I got that far) but I just posted the preview on my own blog yesterday and am hoping to go see this with my husband when he gets home on his r&r. I read the book, and I think the movie looks awesome.

  4. January 18, 2010 8:14 AM

    Love this post! And living in Germany – WHEW we have used the heck out of these mailing things back and forth between family! When we were stationed in Missouri I used these a lot to send things to my hubby in Iraq — Great idea to share the link for ordering them! 🙂

  5. Evelyn permalink
    March 17, 2010 8:57 PM

    Does anyone happen to know how much they have to weigh for you to really be saving? Like if my packages are pretty light, should I just use a regular box?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

