Skip to content

Can’t we all just get along?

January 21, 2010

I never bring politics into my blog and for the longest time I have prided myself on that since politics are a HUGE part of my life. In college, I was majoring in Education since I had spent so much of my working life teaching and taking care of children. However, once I realized my passion for all things political, I changed my major to Political Science. Once I realized that in order to be successful in the political arena you needed to be good at lying…I changed yet again to Business, where it is staying. Some people argue with me that you don’t need to be a liar to survive, I beg to differ. Regardless of what aisle you are on, deals go down in back rooms, promises go unkept, and you have to be snarky and think on your feet in front of the media. That’s just the way it is. Not my style.

I don’t exactly know when I became so politically charged. Perhaps it was because when I was legally able to vote at age 18, it was also an election year. I come from a family of Republicans. We are all pro-military, pro-gun, hard-working Americans. My father, uncle, grandfather, and step-grandfather all work or worked for Lockheed Martin. I think my dad is coming up on 25 years or so with them. My mother and both cousins are in law enforcement. I grew up in a family of Christian conservatives, hence maybe why I am also. I believe strongly in my cause as a conservative. With that said, I was a member of the College Republicans in high school, attended a Bush rally in 2003/2004 in Orlando, a Guiliani rally in 2008, and spent time on a conference call with Governor Jeb Bush. I take politics pretty seriously and it’s something I want to continue to be involved in for a long time. One of the reasons I moved to DC was to get further involved in the Republican party. At the time, I didn’t know I’d be getting married and having to move to TX but as soon as I realized that was the case, I had to put that on the back burner for now. My point in all of this is to say that being a Republican, conservative, and political person has been with me for a long time.

I was ELATED with the election of Scott Brown this week, naturally. And whether you agree, disagree, or come from an opposite view…it was pretty incredible that after 50 years of a Democrat holding that seat…it was turned over to the Republicans during a liberal/Democratic administration. Anyway, my tweets were loud, proud, and numerous. I don’t think I had been that excited in a long time. Perhaps some of my twitter followers didn’t catch that I was a staunch Republican in previous tweets. It’s no secret. None the less, I was observing on Twitter after the Scott Brown election, that people seemed to be tweeting that as an Army Wife, you should be in support of Barack Obama since he is our husbands CIC. I disagree.

This country was founded on freedom…that was fought for and continues to be fought for. Isn’t that part the VERY reason our husbands are sent to war? We have the freedom to believe what we want to believe and express that in pretty much any way we see fit. You don’t have to agree and that’s what makes it beautiful. I feel very passionately about my beliefs and like I said, have for quite some time…long before I married a man in uniform. So I am curious to know why now that I married a soldier, I should stifle my voice, agree with someone I disagree with, or change my patriotism and allegiance. I’m a little confused on that one. What makes it even more curious…is that there are plenty of soldiers who disagree with their CIC. Are they in the wrong then also? They are just as entitled (if not more so) to express their beliefs and believe in who or what they choose to. Just because they work for Obama, doesn’t mean they have to agree with him. Do you always agree with your boss? You obey and do what you are asked to do, but that doesn’t mean you are in strict compliance with their views and beliefs. Am I right or am I wrong here?

My bottom line: Just because I married a soldier, does not mean I will back down from my position as a politically outspoken conservative…under a liberal/Democratic administration. I’m sorry. And I’m sure there were plenty of military wives under the Bush administration who disagreed and spoke out about what they didn’t agree with. It’s your right to.

I respect the man. He was elected by the people, my peers…and the jury spoke. He obviously has far more education and life experience than I do. I don’t believe he is evil or the devil in sheeps clothing, nor do I wish any ill-will on him. He is a man, just like any other…yet he holds a position of authority over this country. I do not agree with his policies and I do not agree with his ideals. I don’t have to and for those who think I’m doing something wrong by not supporting him, please tell me WHAT I am supporting? There is a difference between respect and support.

Anyway, I’m sure I’ll catch some serious flack…get some nasty comments…get some more people to unfollow me on Twitter, etc. But the thing that I will never understand, is that if you are going to step into the political arena at all…be prepared to have a RESPECTFUL and educated debate. You don’t have to get ugly, “de-friend” people, and attack. I may not agree with your beliefs, but I will respect them. We can have a healthy back and forth debate and call it a day. One of my bestest friends campaigned for Obama. We agree to disagree, state our points, try to avoid political discussion, but none the less we don’t let our political stance affect our friendship. Why let it? Life is too short.

Oh and lastly, I am fully capable of admitting that the Bush administration had its faults. I am also able to say that neither party is perfect, including mine. I can also say that not one person or candidate ever has all the answers and that there are problems on both sides of the aisle. I just choose to throw my support to the GOP since they best represent my beliefs. Just sayin…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 12:18 PM

    I love this post. So many people have said they same things to us about supporting Obama since technically he is KS’s boss now. We politely disagree with them, yes he is his boss but in no way do we support him or what is is about.

  2. usmcwife8999 permalink
    January 23, 2010 10:36 AM

    I would have to say that this is strange in deed. I feel the opposite. I am a republican as well, and I believe most liberals are republicans that haven’t been mugged yet. In my personal experience (I say this because that is all we have, is our own perception) I would say the liberal military wife is quite a rare bird. They are out there but pretty unusual. Most the military wives I know are republican and I know a few that are liberal.
    As for the men/women who serve in the military, (again that I know) most didn’t vote for President Obama, and yes he is their CIC, and at least as far as Marines and their need to be loyal will not openly speak out about the President because of that but will freely speak their minds in social settings. If you are an Officer it is illegal to speak out about the CIC and could be punished if you do so.
    What I try to keep in mind is that when George W. Bush was our President I was really pissed when people spoke out about him so I try to keep the same thing in mind when expressing my views of the current President and try to stick to policy and what I agree and do not agree with, unfortunately he has left me plenty to argue.
    I think what most men/women in the Armed Forced understand is that this is our country, everyones. If the country fails, we all fail so disagree as we may, we should when possible stand behind our President and hope he has the backbone to do what is in the best interest to do what is for the good of the people , all our people. This administration has tested me, on a daily basis, and sometimes I lose my mind and get really angry and it comes out. I think we all do just need to get along.

  3. January 24, 2010 8:16 AM

    This post was funny to me (in a good way, I promise!) because as one of those “rare liberal military wives” I have gotten a TON of crap over the years due to the fact that my husband and I ARE both so liberal. But, it was how we were raised, and where we came from. Just because we are in the military doesn’t change that.

    What was funny to me was you saying that just because you are in the military you are supposed to support the CiC. That’s what struck me the most, because I have been told that as a military spouses, I have “no right” to be a democrat. It doesn’t matter how much I support the military (which, I very much do. Obviously. I married a soldier and fight hard for their causes!), my republican friends here can’t see past the fact that maybe I just don’t agree with the war. That doesn’t mean I don’t support my husband or what he does, I just disagree with the reasons behind why he has to deploy. With that said, that seems to be the only thing they think about. Nevermind my stance on education, or the environment, or any of the other social issues that our out there — I didn’t like Bush, so therefore, I have no rights at all.

    Basically, what I’m saying, is that Politics can get nasty, especially around military people. Like you, I was also a PoliSci major for quite a while, and I have a deep, deep love for politics. But I’ve never seen the hatred towards other political parties, both liberal and conservative, as I have being involved with the military. I admit I get pretty loud about it sometimes, but it’s the passion getting the best of me, and I absolutely respect everybody’s opinion. But the ugliness that arises in those attached to the military? It’s unreal!

Leave a Reply

