Skip to content

Hooah Hottie of the Week…Nadine!

January 24, 2010

I am so proud and pleased to introduce this weeks Hooah Hottie, Nadine! She has been a great friend to me on Twitter and hopefully one day soon we will meet up at Hood and chit chat. She has served our country not only as an Army spouse, but as a soldier herself. She is a mother to three handsome boys and I’m sure you will enjoy getting to know Nadine. Hooah!

Tell us a little bit about yourself, job, hobbies,  your background, your family, where you are stationed, what branch of the military your loved one serves in, etc.

My name is Nadine, proud Army wife to Kevin.  We will be married 14 years in March.  I was a Soldier for 11 years, we met in the Army.  My husband has served in the military for over 20 years.  We have 3 amazing boys who are amazing Army brats, resilient and strong!  We are currently called Fort Leonard Wood, MO home and yes, we like it here.

Favorite TV Show ~ M.A.S.H. and ER
Favorite Meal ~ Spaghetti with homemade sauce
Favorite Book ~ Bridge to Terabithia, is my favorite book ever, no..don’t compare it to the movie.
Favorite Website ~ probably my blog, yes I’m biased, but lots of my memories are there

Twitter Username (if you have one) @armygirlnay

What’s one piece of advice you wish someone would have given you prior to joining the military family? How emotionally driven this lifestyle can be. I’d like to also add in here some advice to new spouses or girlfriends.  Don’t romanticize deployment or the Military in general.  The reality can sometimes be crude after you do that.  I’ve seen it time and time again and it’s so sad for those who have their world crash around them when reality sets in.  It’s amazing to be in love with a man in uniform but it’s not an easy lifestyle.

What is your favorite military related resource? Specific blog, website, organization, etc.
Definitely Army Family Team Building and Military Once Source!

What has been the most challenging aspect of military life and how do you cope with it?  The constant goodbyes, with our Soldiers and our friends.  I always try to serve others to forget myself…you realize your situation isn’t so bad when you are helping others.  I volunteer A LOT and teach my children to serve others as well.

If you have children, how do you balance your daily life while your service member is deployed?  I focus on routine, rarely changing it even when my husband is home on R&R, when we move, we always set up the kids first so their adjustment isn’t so harsh.

How many deployments have you experienced? What are some things you have learned for surviving them?  Between the two of us over 7…flexibility and low expectations I think are the lessons I’ve learned the most.

How are you actively involved in the military communityI am an Army Family Team Building Master Trainer and have served in other roles within the AFTB Family, I also volunteer as an Army Family Action Plan facilitator as well as facilitation within other agencies throughout the installation.  I am normally very involved in the Family Readiness Group, having served as FRG leader for pretty much the last decade.  I’m in limbo now as we just arrived into a new unit and I need a break. (BTW, it’s okay to say you need a break or to step back to take care of you and your family).

Why are you proud of your service member?  The reasons are many but I am proud of my husband because he’s a great man.  He’s honorable, humble, supportive, loving, kind, firm when needed and that’s all before he steps into the uniform and lives the life of a Soldier.  He is charitable.  He has never shirked responsibility in any spectrum of his life.  He takes his role as a Freedom Defender very seriously.  I admire that he always watches out for everyone.

Have you experienced any negativity from anyone outside the military community? How did you handle it? Sure, but I rarely take things personal from the ignorant.  I don’t have to justify my lifestyle to anyone, especially those who don’t “get” that it’s my very lifestyle and the sacrifices my family makes that allows them the freedom to be negative.

What goals have you set for yourself? To support my husband and family the best I can but also place myself first and make myself happy.  Fortunately for me, helping Soldiers and their families makes me happy so this lifestyle suits me well.

In 3 words, I would describe this life as…Emotional, Rewarding, Ever-changing

Please include the address of your blog or website so we can feature that also.
http://thealbrechtsquad.blogspot.com/

*I just wanted to add in here that many walk into this lifestyle with preconceived notions as to what a Military Wife should or shouldn’t be.  This isn’t the 50’s or 60’s.  Don’t limit yourself or judge others because of what you’ve heard a Military wife is or is not.  The diversity and experience that make up my friends within the military community is amazing, it’s one of the things I treasure most about the opportunities being a Military family brings.  Don’t think you have to give up your dreams and your goals because of this, dream bigger and look at what this experience has to offer!  I’ve been around the world, albeit not visiting the countries I may have dreamed about as a little girl but gaining so much more experience and being humbled by those I have met along the journey.  I do happen to stay at home with my children as do many others but it’s a CHOICE I’ve made.  I have an education, I’ve had two careers, this is the one I choose to have while my children are young.  So keep an open-mind and remember that there is a reason behind everyone’s situation that you meet.  There wasn’t one mold created to build a Military wife, for that I am grateful because I have been blessed to meet so many amazing women who have many talents and virtues!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 12:41 PM

    Lovely post! Nice to get you know you a little better Nadine 🙂

Leave a Reply

