Skip to content

Hooah Hottie of the Week: Megan!

January 31, 2010

Congratulations to my girl Megan for being selected for our Hooah Hottie of the Week! She is always a super positive force on Twitter and I love having her as a friend. She is an Army girlfriend and I’m sure you guys are eager to learn more about this fabulous chick!

My name is Megan, I’m 21 and I’m currently a student at Saint Louis University and am graduating this December with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and International Studies. I also have a minor in Spanish I am pursuing and a certificate in Foreign Service. I have a part-time job at the law school library on campus as well as at a law firm as a Legal Assistant. My boyfriend is in the U.S. Army and is currently stationed at Ft. Bliss. Before his leave in December 2009, Steve was stationed in South Korea for a year.

Favorite TV ShowI’m currently a big fan of The Big Bang Theory, but other favorites include Lost, Law and Order and Army Wives.

Favorite WebsiteI go to Facebook or Twitter almost daily, and for news I hit up CNN.

Twitter UsernameMeganWrites1

What’s one piece of advice you wish someone would have given you prior to joining the military family?I wish I had been told about how fast things can change and how one must be flexible and patient. I have learned the hard way!

Challenging aspect of military lifeI think since the beginning maintaining a good relationship while far apart has been the most difficult thing. A week after Steve and I began dating he left for South Korea, and other than his leave time, we have been together apart. It definitely can wear a person down, but I have learned to look at the bigger picture and enjoy getting to know each other. We have learned to trust each other more and communicate better than I think we would have without the distance. It has definitely strengthened the foundation of our relationship and I think because of the distance we have a stronger relationship in the short amount of time we’ve been together as compared to some people who date for years but don’t really “know” the other person.

Deployments and coping with themSteve’s hardship tour in South Korea is the closest we have come so far to deployment. However, he may deploy again this year to the Middle East. I have learned to try to be independent but also keep Steve in the loop about life. Dealing with the time difference can also be a challenge, but I think if we can deal with a 14 hour time difference for a year and still be together now, we can do anything!

Involvement in the Military communityThis semester, I will be doing an internship at The Mission Continues, a non-profit organization that helps veterans nationwide. You can find more information about The Mission Continues at http://www.missioncontinues.org/.

Why I’m proud of my servicememberI’m so proud that Steven has been so determined and hard-working throughout his military career. He is driven and motivated, and very rarely speaks negatively about the job. He sacrifices so much for little reward, but is still positive about his service for his country. He inspires me to be more positive about my life and to work hard towards my goals.

Negativity outside the military communityI have certainly experienced negativity, but it has been limited. Many people I know at school are actually very pro-soldier, but anti-war, so there have been times they tread the line too close for me emotionally when it comes to discussing the current situation in the Middle East. I encounter these discussions a lot because of what I am studying, but in some ways it helps to talk about it and see different viewpoints. I try not to let the negativity get to me, though sometimes when it does I write about it or talk to friends who understand how I feel.
Goals Right now, my biggest goals are to finish school this fall and before that decide what to do with my life after graduation. I also hope to be a more positive person and a better friend, and to actually try to socialize a bit more, because oftentimes I am a bit of a hermit.

3 words to describe this lifeHectic, emotional, rewarding!

My website/blog is www.meganwrites.com.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

