Skip to content

1st Time On Post

February 21, 2010

“Welcome to Fort Hood. Please don’t drive on the sidewalks.”

HAHA! So, yeah. I had my first experience on Hood and I figured I’d fill you guys in so you could get a good laugh.

Hubs had PRK surgery, a lesser equivalent of Lasik on Tuesday at Darnall. So, I had to drive him there and obviously drive him back. See, I’ve been on post before…but it was Walter Reed. TOTALLY different. One windy road, a super slow speed limit due to the nature of the patients, and obviously MUCH MUCH smaller than the massive sprawl that is Fort Hood. Well, when your husband is blind and you’ve been in TX all of 24 hours, it’s tough to get around.

He had to report to his Batallion to let them know of the PRK and give him the orders for his quarters for the week. (6 DAYS! WOOHOO!) So, I missed the turn to get there and saw a side street. Turns out, the side street was a sidewalk. It cracks me up to even think about it. But here’s the thing…there were trucks and stuff parked in the grass so how was I supposed to know? I guess they were doing construction at the Barracks and those were work trucks. OOPS! After I got turned around, no wonder there were a few soldiers looking at me sideways as I realized that the curb was not the exit.

THAT was a disaster.

I was mortified for the first couple days, even though nobody really saw us or said anything. We didn’t get in trouble and nothing happened to hubs, so I guess I was lucky. WHOOPS! I guess we all have our moments and this was my “Welcome to the REAL Army Wife Life” moment…or maybe I’m just a ditz.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 6:01 PM

    Hilarious! I know just where you are talking about…glad it all went well. My husband had his PRK done there too and has had no problems at all.

  2. Reina permalink
    February 22, 2010 9:07 PM

    That’s awesome!! I’m glad that he got his PRK! I’m glad he was able to get it so quickly! 🙂 “welcome to the life!!”

Leave a Reply

