Skip to content

Hooah Hottie of the Week ~ Patty!

February 21, 2010

Tell us a little bit about yourself, job, hobbies,  your background, your family, where you are stationed, what branch of the military your loved one serves in, etc.

Hi, I’m Patty and I’m a 26 year old hang-at-home mom. I was born an Air Force brat at Cannon Air Force Base in Clovis, New Mexico. We lived about 10 years in the Ft Worth, TX area before my mom moved us back to her home town of Clovis where I spent my “growing up” years. It was there that I met my husband, Taco, while he was stationed as an F-16 crew chief in the Air Force at Cannon AFB. We have been married for 4.5 years and have one son who is now 4 years old. Taco got out of the Air Force in 2007 due to his job being “obsoleted” and wasn’t able to re-enlist. After about 2 years of going back & forth between wanting to go back in and not, he finally re-enlisted – into the Army. We’re now stationed at Ft Bliss in El Paso, Texas. I have an Associate’s degree in Graphic Art, and hope to find the time this year to go back to school and finish my bachelor’s. In my spare time at home, I enjoy cross-stitching, crocheting, knitting, and reading… all while watching movies/tv shows via Netflix.

 Favorite TV Show old school: Fawlty Towers; still running: Family Guy

Favorite Meal a big bowl of pasta with spinach, tomatoes, artichokes and olive oil

Favorite Book The Lord of the Rings

Favorite Website Facebook, because I’ve been able to reconnect with so many old friends and stay in touch with everyone even while we’re all moving around

Twitter Username MommyTaco

What is your favorite military related resource? it would have to be USAA – they may be a bank & insurance company but they offer SO MUCH MORE in regards to advice, tools, and SUPPORT for military families.

What has been the most challenging aspect of military life and how do you cope with it? The “hurry up and wait.” The constant uncertainty. The time spent apart, even when they’re home. You have to find a whole lot of patience within yourself. Orders CAN change. Training, TDYs, PCSs and deployments CAN come up last minute. It is really hard to do sometimes, but just taking a deep breath and trying not to get frustrated over things is the only way to cope….and finding a hobby to fill your time alone!

If you have children, how do you balance your daily life while your service member is deployed? With our first deployment, I was still working and was fortunate to still live in the same town as my family. So I was able to arrange my schedule to where my family watched my son while I worked in the day. We are facing another deployment very soon and it will be a whole different ball game since I am not working. I have already started a pretty good routine of taking my son to school in the morning, going to the gym to work out and coming home to do housework. The evenings and summer time are going to be the harder part, while Taco is gone and I am alone at home with our son. Hopefully getting out and going to the park or the library and getting out of the house with him will help keep me from going insane!

 How many deployments have you experienced? What are some things you have learned for surviving them? We have been through a 4.5 month deployment a few years ago. I learned that keeping busy will help your mind not dwell on the alone time. Also, GET INVOLVED in the military community. There were a lot of things “promised” to me in ways of support that were never there. I know it’s different at each different location, with each different unit. Seek out your support groups and meet other spouses. The communication level during that deployment was non-existant from everyone other than my husband, so I am making it a point to get involved in those support systems and make sure that I know who to go to for help if needed.

How are you actively involved in the military community? I have become an active member of our FRG. I will be one of the key callers/point of contact for the spouses in our unit. Like I said, the communication with the last deployment was awful, and I refuse to go through that again. Not only will I be sure to know what is going on with our group while they’re deployed, but I will have the opportunity to help support the other spouses who may not know what avenues to take if they have issues or questions come up during the deployment.

Why are you proud of your service member? I am proud of my service member because he was willing to answer the call of duty a second time, even though he got burned during his first enlistment. It takes a lot to serve our country as it is but he was willing to step out in faith and go back into the service despite it all. He knows the sacrifices it means our family will have to make when he is away, but knows that it is worth it because he is following God’s calling for his life. I know that it was a very difficult decision for him to make and God is going to bless him for trusting in Him!

Have you experienced any negativity from anyone outside the military community? How did you handle it? Nothing really negative but it was difficult for a lot of people to accept that he had decided to go back into the service. It was especially difficult to explain to those who don’t have faith in God what it is to answer His calling. “How could God want someone to go to war and risk their life?” Jesus died so that we may live – and the same statement can be said about any of our service members.

What goals have you set for yourself? Of course, there’s the whole losing weight and getting fit thing. Now that I am a stay-at-home mom, I finally have the time available to me for focusing on my diet/exercise routines. But I also have the goal of getting involved and doing as much as I can within the military community. I know what it’s like to be the spouse left behind and not sure who to turn to for things. Rather than go through that again, I will get involved so that I may be informed but also am making it a point to be the support that other spouses may need. To be the voice for those who don’t know the questions to ask or are too shy to ask the question.

In 3 words, I would describe this life as…unpredictable, frustrating, but rewarding!

Please include the address of your blog or website so we can feature that also. http://mommytaco.wordpress.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 10:27 PM

    The “hurry up and wait.” – yeah that is one of the challenges, thanks for posting mommytaco 🙂

Leave a Reply

