Skip to content

Happy Belated 4th & Such

July 5, 2010

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a very relaxing and enjoyable 4th of July yesterday. My husband & I spent ours being lazy around the house. We decided not to brave the massive crowds at Fort Hood’s Freedom Fest. I don’t know how you all feel about it, but I greatly dislike when events are open to the public on post. I don’t live on post and I can’t imagine how those folks feel. Granted, anyone can basically come on post with an acceptable ID but MASSIVE AMOUNTS of civilians on post on a holiday celebrating our freedom? Call me paranoid, but I think it’s excessive. I saw some comments on the Fort Hood MWR Facebook fan page that got me thinking. Someone had commented about how the mission of the MWR is to support the troops and their families…NOT involve the civilian population. What do you all think? I tend to agree. I think it’s perfectly acceptable to allow civilians on post to learn about this life, but to allow a free for all on major holidays and for major events…I don’t think so.

Anyway, we did enjoy some time this weekend with a few Army friends. It was really nice to spend time with people on our level…busy with school, working, no kids, etc. We had a blast. Thanks Sarah! ❤

Less than 2 weeks and we’ll be on a jet plane to Vegas. HOLLA!

Oh, and thank you all so much for the comments I receive on this blog. I love getting comments (like one I did yesterday) on how the older posts I’ve made have helped other people through their deployments. I’m glad you all can identify with those and if you are facing an upcoming deployment or are smack in the middle of one, go backwards in my blog and perhaps you’ll find some things useful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

