Skip to content

Checking into Old Space

May 26, 2012

Hello to everyone out there stumbling upon “This Army Life.”

As I’ve mentioned previously, I at times forget this blog even existed, until I’m thrust into a conversation with an old friend about military life and dating a soldier and it all comes flooding back.

Much has changed since I married “M” back in December 2009 and subsequently divorced in March of 2011. One year has passed since our divorce was finalized and it’s just the strangest thing. At times, it feels as if it never happened, but then I realize just how much I’ve changed because of it. I am an entirely new person now, not even remembering who the girl was before. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. One thing is for certain, I am 1000% committed to serving this community that I love so much. Despite spending a short time as a military girlfriend and wife, something about this life struck me to my core.

It has long been a dream of mine to return to DC where this all really began. The place I lived before I started dating my now ex husband. I was alive there, felt whole, and felt at home. In just about a week, I’ll make the trip back, hopefully for good. It’s been a long time coming and I feel so blessed to finally be in a place to make that happen.

If you’re wanting to learn more about military life, deployments, etc., this blog is for you. It documented my journey from being a military girlfriend turned spouse and all of the emotions that came with the transition. Now with the new stage in my life, my “newer” blog, “Eat, Pray, Love…LIVE!” will be transitioning itself. If you’re curious on how life has been for me post military marriage, I encourage you to come on over and check it out.

I am thankful to all of you who continue to comment and visit this blog, even though I no longer write in it anymore. My thoughts and prayers are with each of you, whether you are a girlfriend or boyfriend, mom or dad, husband or wife. You are not alone. May this blog be just a portion of the comfort you receive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

